Quarter Life Crisis

10413830_313646278812331_814076093_n

Yesterday I spent the majority of my day on Google Earth, street viewing New York City avenues, wondering where the pixelated people are running to. I have never been to the Big Apple but there is something about it that makes my heart skip a beat, like it is calling to me, like I need to be there, running down the street in heels with a rolled up paper under one arm and my tote in the other.

I have also been watching quite a lot of ER recently and feel as though I should have been a Doctor. I’m not much of a caring person and generally believe everyone claiming to be sick is simply suffering from a severe case of hypochondria. But it all looks so exciting, fast paced, everyone running around with something important to do. I bet they don’t get home from work and watch three back to back episodes of Casualty before putting the dinner on and going to bed, only to do it all over again the next day.

Before ER I watched the last series of Secret Diary of a Call Girl, I also thought this was a definite career option. I am emotionally void after all, frequenting various swanky hotel rooms for bundles of rolled up fifties could potentially be the answer to all of my problems. Only, I can’t apply fake eyelashes and I’m not the most glamorous person in the world. I’d probably end up on a street corner offering sexual favours in exchange for a Big Mac… Maybe not.

No, on closer inspection I don’t think I’d make a very good prostitute or doctor, when you think about it the two are actually quite similar. I suppose I will simply have to move to New York and live a fabulous lifestyle there instead. Or go back to Somerset, move back in with Mother and get a third cat. Decisions, decisions…

6 thoughts on “Quarter Life Crisis

  1. Natalie says:

    Ahh, the quarter life crisis. So many of my friends are feeling the same confusion and doubts — and I’ve even heard some question the validity of prostitution as a career!

    Thanks for sharing — you’re not alone 🙂

  2. Accidentally Single says:

    The Quarter Life crisis is real. I went through it as well. You’ll sob for no reason at all because life looks nothing like the two page paper you wrote in 8th grade stating where you wanted to be in the next 10 years.

    However, you have to visit NYC. There’s no place like it and the movies and TV shows can’t compare. There’s nothing like feeling the rush of hot air when running down the subway stairs. There’s nothing like seeing city nights in a place that literally never sleeps. And it makes you feel as though you can accomplish anything if you can make it there. You owe it to yourself to experience it in person.

Leave a Reply

